Grow your faith through truthful fiction | with Jenny Cote | episode 245

Oct 10, 2023

Bonjour! Stephanie here. I just had the most fun and delightful, enthusiastic, encouraging conversation with my dear friend Jenny Cote. She has been on Gospel Spice before, but that was over 3 years ago, and I thought it was high time to invite her back because I believe she creates some of the very top resources we can use in our Christian walk – us, and kids of all ages! Jenny write historical fiction with a touch of delightful fantasy. I never have time to read fiction, which is one of the great sadness of my life! But I want to always make time for Jenny’s books. Her writing is deeply Biblical, and she will make you fall in love with Jesus more. And even though she writes for kids of all ages, I think I want to include myself in that bracket of kids of all ages – all of us grown ups have much to enjoy in her books. Like so many of her readers, I initially picked up her book for my son. But then I started reading… and I was hooked! You will be too. it’s still early to talk about Christmas, but I think this should make your list for your kids, grandkids, cousins, nieces and nephews – just don’t forget to read it for yourself first.

listen here: 

You can also watch the full conversation on YouTube! Go to 


Escape through a maze of deception, betrayal, and death is the key to survival for thirteen rebellious colonies that dare to fight against tyranny and win their independence. Powerful forces seek to cut off the head of their Don’t Tread on Me snake by assassinating General George Washington as the unstoppable British fleet sails into New York Harbor. The Epic Order of the Seven must identify and stop the assassin, or the epic Battle of New York will be over before it even begins. The Declaration of Independence rallies patriots to tear down the statue of King George III, but will its words be worth dying for? The Howe Brothers chase Washington and his dwindling Continental Army across New Jersey until he learns how to outfox them and lives to fight another day at Trenton and Princeton. The animal team knows those small victories won’t be enough to win a war and must convince France to covertly join the fight. They must help France’s wealthy Marquis de Lafayette sail for America to fight alongside Washington, but first he must escape King Louis XVI who has other plans for the reluctant courtier.

The third installment in the Epic Revolutionary saga, The Marquis, the Escape, and the Fox covers events from April 1776 to April 1777.


Award-winning author and speaker Jenny L. Cote, who developed an early passion for God, history, and young people, beautifully blends these three passions in her two fantasy fiction series, The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz® and Epic Order of the Seven®. Likened to C. S. Lewis by readers and book reviewers alike, she speaks on creative writing to schools, universities and conferences around the world.  Jenny has a passion for making history fun for kids of all ages, instilling in them a desire to discover their part in HIStory. Her love for research has taken her to most Revolutionary sites in the U.S., to London (with unprecedented access to Handel House Museum to write in Handel’s composing room), Oxford (to stay in the home of C. S. Lewis, ‘the Kilns’, and interview Lewis’ secretary, Walter Hooper at the Inklings’ famed The Eagle and Child Pub), Paris, Normandy, Rome, Israel, and Egypt. She partnered with the National Park Service to produce Epic Patriot Camp, a summer writing camp at Revolutionary parks to excite kids about history, research and writing. Jenny’s books are available online and in stores around the world, as well as in multiple e-book formats. Jenny holds two marketing degrees from the University of Georgia and Georgia State University. A Virginia native, Jenny now lives with her husband, Jock and Liz in Roswell, Georgia.

Find more at


The Amazing Tales of Max and Liz® is a two-book prequel series that begins the adventures of brave Scottie dog Max and brilliant French cat Liz.

Book One: The Ark, the Reed, and the Fire Cloud introduces Max and Liz, who meet on the way to the Ark and foil a plot by a stowaway who is out to kill Noah and stop his mission.

Book Two: The Dreamer, the Schemer, and the Robe brings Max, Liz, and friends to work behind the scenes in the life of Joseph in the land of Egypt. The Epic Order of the Seven® series picks up where the Max and Liz series left off.

Book One: The Prophet, the Shepherd, and the Star gives Max, Liz, and the gang their most important mission yet: preparing for the birth of the promised Messiah. Their seven-hundred–year mission takes them to the lives of Isaiah, Daniel, and those in the Christmas story.

Book Two: The Roman, the Twelve, and the King unfolds the childhood, ministry and passion of Jesus Christ with a twist – his story is told within the story of George F. Handel composing Messiah.

Book Three: The Wind, the Road, and the Way covers Acts 1-18 and Paul’s first two missionary journeys.

Book Four: The Fire, the Revelation, and the Fall concludes the story of Acts to the fall of Rome, showing the miraculous birth of the church amidst persecution by the Roman Empire.

Book Five: The Voice, the Revolution, and the Key begins a five book Revolutionary War saga featuring Patrick Henry and the Marquis de Lafayette.

Her latest release is The Declaration, the Sword, and the Spy (April 2020), covering events from Lexington and Concord through the Declaration of Independence.

Future books will feature C.S. Lewis and WWII. Jenny’s books have been developed into audiobooks (The Ark and The Voice) and VBS curriculum (Heroes of HIStory) with animation by Magnetic Dreams in Nashville, TN, and original music by Marco Randazzo.

Catch up with Stephanie's latest episodes on the Gospel SpiceĀ podcast!

Listen now

Stay connected + receive a free, tasteful gift in your inbox each month.

We hate SPAM. We will never sell your information, for any reason.